Skip to main content

NOSA Talent Show Once Again Showcases Talent of Our Students

On Friday evening, January 20, 2017, the UMSL chapter of the National Student Optometric Association winner of the “Chapter of the Year” at the Annual National Optometric Association Meeting last July – once again hosted a great annual tradition, the NOSA Talent Show.  The Master of Ceremonies was Lulette Fermil (’19) who also provided between act entertainment. 

The show featured several talented students who could sing, play instruments, and dance.  The top winner was Madison Moss (’20), who gave a spellbinding performance in singing and playing the keyboards to the epic, Fleetwood Mac song “Landslide.”  Second place went to Kate Hamm (’19) who also gave a wonderful performance singing, “Lost Boy” by Ruth B. Kate also provided her own accompaniment on the keyboard.  Sara Taylor (’19) was awarded third place for an excellent dance routine to the song, “Latch” by Sam Smith. 

A very well received fourth place performance was by the duet consisting of Abigail Smith on guitar with vocals by Jackie Hinderks to the song “When We Were Young” by Adele.  In fact, although typically only the first three award winners are honored, Clinical Assistant Professor Erin Brooks provided funding for both fourth and fifth place finishers.  Judging the event were Clinical Assistant Professors Christine Gavett (‘91) and Casey Hamm (’15), and Director of Externships Angel Simmons (‘03).  Dr. Simmons said it best, “Once again it was an amazing showcase highlighting our students and their many talents! Such a wonderful annual tradition that benefits a great cause,” commented Simmons.

The winners! (Left to right): Sara Taylor (3rd place), Kate Hamm (2nd place), and Madison Moss (1st place) (photo by Heather Jackson ’19)

The Master of Ceremonies Lulette Fermil

Kate Hamm singing and on the keyboards

Abigail Smith (left) and Jackie Hinderks


Popular posts from this blog

UMSL Hosts the 2017 Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators 34th Annual Educational Workshop

The UMSL College of Optometry was host to 56 contact lens educators from all of the Colleges in North America as well as 23 representatives from contact lens industry sponsors as host of the 34th Annual Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators(AOCLE) Annual Educational Workshop, held June 1 – 3.  The theme of the meeting was ““Scleral Lenses: The Good, The Bad, The Technology.” Guest lecturers included renown scleral lens innovators Drs. Christine Sindt and Jason Jedlicka.  Attendees had the opportunity to participate in workshops pertaining to scleral lens evaluation and fitting.  A highlight of the workshop was a tour of the new UMSL Patient Care Center.  The organizing committee consisted of Drs. Julie DeKinder, Vinita Henry, Ed Bennett, and Beth Henderson with Dr. DeKinder doing a wonderful job as Chair of the committee.  And she was very pleased to have this opportunity as she relates: “It was an honor to host the AOCLE at UMSL.  Having the opportunity to showcase our new…

White Coat Ceremony: A Wonderful Tribute to the Class of Harmony

Heart of America: A Great Annual UMSL Tradition

The 56th Annual Contact Lens & Primary Care Congress presented by the Heart of America Contact Lens Society was, once again, a great success and represented a great opportunity for College of Optometry students and residents to network, present posters, receive high quality continuing education, and help as monitors and graduates to have the opportunity to see their classmates and enjoy, not only the expansive exhibit hall but also customize their education based upon the five tracks of courses given simultaneously.  The faculty included two UMSL graduates, Drs. Rebecca Wartman(‘87) and Shane Kannarr(‘00) and Assistant Dean, Dr. Ed Bennett.  Likewise, the Heart of America Board of Directors had a significant UMSL presence with Drs. Sean Mulqueeny(‘91), Wes DeRosier(‘96) and President Craig Brawley(‘01).  Dr. Delaram “Deli” Shirazian(’16), currently completing the Kansas City Veteran’s Administration Medical Center residency program, was a recipient of a $2,000 grant from the Heart…