Skip to main content

Heart of America: A Great Annual UMSL Tradition

The 56th Annual Contact Lens & Primary Care Congress presented by the Heart of America Contact Lens Society was, once again, a great success and represented a great opportunity for College of Optometry students and residents to network, present posters, receive high quality continuing education, and help as monitors and graduates to have the opportunity to see their classmates and enjoy, not only the expansive exhibit hall but also customize their education based upon the five tracks of courses given simultaneously.  The faculty included two UMSL graduates, Drs. Rebecca Wartman(‘87) and Shane Kannarr(‘00) and Assistant Dean, Dr. Ed Bennett.  Likewise, the Heart of America Board of Directors had a significant UMSL presence with Drs. Sean Mulqueeny(‘91), Wes DeRosier(‘96) and President Craig Brawley(‘01).  Dr. Delaram “Deli” Shirazian(’16), currently completing the Kansas City Veteran’s Administration Medical Center residency program, was a recipient of a $2,000 grant from the Heart of America.. In addition, six members of the UMSL “family” were lead authors on scientific posters.  This included :

1)    Liesl Amon, OD (’16):  A Case of Cystoid Macular Edema Following Nd:YAG Capsulotomy
2)   Jamie Weiser, OD (’16):  Bilateral Idiopathic Panuveitis in a Pediatric Patient
3)   Jessica Jose, OD (’16):  Treatment and Management of Bilateral Alkaline Ocular Burns
4)   Delaram Shirazian, OD (’16):  A Closer Look at Epiretinal Membrane in a Patient with Hypotony
5)   Allison Schafers, OD (’16): Choroidal Neovascular Membrane in African-American Population
6)   Jaclyn Leonhardt, OD (Cornea and Contact Lens Resident): Troubleshooting Lens Intolerance with EyeprintPRO

Finally, the annual alumni reception provided an opportunity for both students and alumni classes to relax and enjoy an evening of camaraderie.  All attendees received a new “Eye Chose UMSL” T-Shirt and the new Patient Care Center was highlighted during this event.
Dean Larry Davis, Katie Loock (’17), and Assistant Dean Ed Bennett

The alumni reception would not be same without these two exceptional graduates from the Class of 2001: Drs. Rebecca Robinson and Kristin Ham.

(Left to Right): Elizabeth Phillips, OD (’16), Katie Loock (’17), Jessica Jose, OD (’16), Mandy Longoria (’17), and Kelsey Haugen (’17)

(Left to Right):  Drs. Bryan Larson (’15), Nick Wenande (’15), Liesl Amon (’16), Alex Permann (’15), and Brad Collins (’15)

(Left to Right): Yousef Ibrahim (’17), Elias Toubia (’17), and Ramya Natarajan (’18)

(Left to Right): Drs. Emily Williams (’15), Elizabeth Phillips (’16), Delaram Shirazian (’16), Kelly Durst (’15), and Casey Hamm (’15)

(Left to Right): Ramya Nararajan (’18), Kristen Reynolds (’18), JoAnn Adams ('18), Theresa Crowley (’18), and Dr. Elizabeth Crowley ('89)


Popular posts from this blog

UMSL Students Flourish: Receive Awards, Honors, and Leadership Positions at Optometry's Meeting

In the College of Optometry’s 37-year history it is very likely that UMSL pride has never been more evident than it was June 21 – 25 in Washington, D.C. at Optometry’s Meeting. UMSL dominated the honors awarded to students and won the respect of the 2,300 students nationwide who were in attendance.  Want proof?
How about this: 1. Recipient of one of  AOSA's highest honors: "The Spirit Award" 2. Two recipients of the College being awarded a first place $15,000 scholarship in a highly competivie national competition 3. One UMSL student elected as the National Liaison to the AOA Contact Lens and Cornea Section 4. One UMSL student was selected as one of two finalists for AOSA National President (the election will be held at a later date).
UMSL’s presence was made known at the very beginning of the meeting when Kate Hamm (’19) was selected to perform the National Anthem at the Opening Ceremony of Optometry’s Meeting.  It just continued to get better.  The Spirit Award, given annual…

UMSL Hosts the 2017 Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators 34th Annual Educational Workshop

The UMSL College of Optometry was host to 56 contact lens educators from all of the Colleges in North America as well as 23 representatives from contact lens industry sponsors as host of the 34th Annual Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators(AOCLE) Annual Educational Workshop, held June 1 – 3.  The theme of the meeting was ““Scleral Lenses: The Good, The Bad, The Technology.” Guest lecturers included renown scleral lens innovators Drs. Christine Sindt and Jason Jedlicka.  Attendees had the opportunity to participate in workshops pertaining to scleral lens evaluation and fitting.  A highlight of the workshop was a tour of the new UMSL Patient Care Center.  The organizing committee consisted of Drs. Julie DeKinder, Vinita Henry, Ed Bennett, and Beth Henderson with Dr. DeKinder doing a wonderful job as Chair of the committee.  And she was very pleased to have this opportunity as she relates: “It was an honor to host the AOCLE at UMSL.  Having the opportunity to showcase our new…

Farewell and Good Luck Class of 2017

Farewell, Young Doctors. Go Be The Vision. Dear Class of 2017;
This was Nick's final email email to the Class of 2017 on Thursday, May 11, 2017.—23,890+ emails later… Today, May 12, 2017 they graduate as Doctor's of Optometry.  Please indulge me for a bit… If I were to give your commencement address…Here is what I would have to say to each of you and to be honest—I don’t like goodbyes, so this will help capture my thoughts and feelings.  Today, we celebrate your commencement.  Cheers- Nick
This is all because of you.
Four years ago each of you began a journey together—not knowing what to expect or what to do, but you quickly learned the next four years would be a challenge.  Through it all though, you stood tough.  Quite frankly, it wasn’t always easy and I am sure moments questioning your decision crossed your mind—maybe more than once.  Always remember this: If it was meant to be easy then everyone would be here, but that is not the case.  You are one of a small group of dedicat…